Denman News - Published by the Denman & District Development Assoc. Fully funded by generous donations & advertisers copy Circulation: 900 Phone: 6547 2799 Email your Advertising denmannewsads@denmanonline.com **"Pride of the Hunter"** 4th April, 2019 Issue 877



Hunter Ball-Outstanding cricketer for the year along with his trophy haul from club and representative Levels. The Club also awarded Hunter the Ross Ayre Memorial Trophy.

enman Junior Cricket held its presentation for the 2018/2019 season on Sunday afternoon at The Denman Hotel (major sponsor of DJCC) to celebrate the achievements of its young cricketers. Our other major sponsor Malabar Coal was there to present drink bottles and hats to our players. Thank you to Donna McLaughlin and Malabar Coal for their support during the season. All age groups were in attendance, from the Woolworths Junior Blasters right up to our under-16s, who made the grand finals this season. The planned pink stumps day was canceled due to the wet weather, however Chantel Blake, Germaine and Ainsley Ball generously organized a raffle and a 100 club to raise \$692 for the McGrath Foundation and we thank these guys for making this happen.

The winners of our raffles were as follows: 4th prize - Karen Wilkins \$20 voucher from Triple J's (thankyou to The East family for their donation)

3rd Prize - Wendy Bowd

2nd Prize - Jack Mann

1st Prize - Will Stair

The 100 club was won by Brett Hedjuk who kindly donated his winners back to the McGrath Foundation.

Hunter Ball had a remarkable day also taking out the Ross Ayre Memorial Trophy and the Most Outstanding Cricketer for the year. Club person of the year was Anthony Worth for his dedication to training and just helping out when he can amongst

> all grades within Denman Junior Cricket. We would also like to thank our many sponsors: Malabar Coal, The Denman Hotel, Gavin Scott Plumbing, Denman Pharmacy, Regional Australia Bank, Roger Moore Plumbing, Wishes Hair and Beauty, MMS Engineering, Scone Equine Hospital, MV Solar, Denman Lions, Denman Rotary, Pukara Estate, Two Rivers Wines and Precious Pieces.

Pictures and editorial courtesy of Caroline Worth



Under 12's team-With Coach Steve Andrews (L-R) Eden Andrews, Matthew Hinze, Will Hejduk, Conner Hewitt, Jarryd Moore, Blake Scott, Brodie Mills and Marshall Hinze.

Community News

Rotary visit the Men's Shed

Recently Denman Men's Shed & The Denman Heritage Village were approached to put a BBQ dinner on for the Denman Rotary Club. After a lot of organizing by Catherine Reddish from the Heritage Village all went ahead on Wednesday 27th March. The Rotary members enjoyed a BBQ dinner cooked by Rod & John with Catherine arranging salads and the tables. After dinner the Rotary were shown through the Men's Shed and Jeff showed off the Heritage Village and explained the progress on the new shed to be placed beside the existing shed. Overall a very successful night was had by all. Thanks to all those who made their time available for the night. Denis Chandler



Left: Denis and John cooking on the BBO for the Rotarians.





Denman Junior Cricket Presentation photos



Below: Under 14's (L-): Cambell Hinze, Ethan Ayre, Mason Hewitt, Ned McKenzie, Hunter Ball (Coach), Will Stair, Anthony Worth, Lucas Stair, Ashton Blake and Jack Mann (Coach)

Under 16s-(L-R): Will, Hunter, Anthony (Coach), Will Harris, Liam Galvin, Cambell, Jack Mann and Ashton.

LATE ENTRY **DENMAN & DISTRICT CRICKET CLUB**

The Denman & District Cricket Club Devils VS North Penrith Knights Cricket Club

This Saturday 6 April 2019 at the Denman No.1 Oval

BBQ Breakfast at 11am

12pm start

All welcome



Denman Devils Team - Karl Bowd (C), John Apps, Peter Mills, Chris Bradford, Shaun Wilkins, Jackson Ball, Jack Mann (wk), Steve Andrews, Brady Bowd, Marcus Baker, Allan Murphy, Anthony Worth and Ashton Blake.

North Penrith Knights Team – Matt Stubbs (C), Glenn Jackson, Brett Jones, Mahesh Panicker, Nidhin Sunny, Josh Rodman, Long Fogg, Dave Hampton (wk), Ben Bradshaw, Ryan Moore and Billy Stubbs.

Below: Under 10s-(L-R): Michael Hinze, Keedan Blake, Emmitt Medhurst, Tyler Scott, Rory Blake, Eli Ballard, John Hinze, Theo Ballard and Mac Spinks and Representing Malabar Coal, Donna McLaughlin.

